Teamwork contributes to success

Media Objects Assessment 1: Single Shot Video

Teamwork contributes to success

  • Building the idea

In the beginning, due to the busy time of all members, my group created the Facebook page that is called Media Object in order to post all of our ideas and decide which one we will shoot by voting. Beside that, when we picked our favorite one to shoot, we worked together to continue developing the idea as well as fix some details we thought that the camera might be unable to capture.

  • Shooting film

My team and I decided specific roles for each member such as cameramen, director, assistant director and actresses in order to reduce conflict and work well together. At first, we had challenges to find an empty and quite room at peak hours in RMIT. We also had to test shooting many times to find the best way to act and good angles to produce good video. Moreover, we encountered to set the time for each actress to walk into the frame because we afraid if we made it quickly, our film would be unnatural. In contrast, we had to make sure every action happens consistently and easy to understand within only one minute.

  • Strengths

I think my group was successful in creating the process for all members to contribute their ideas. Furthermore, choosing Facebook as a social channel to communicate, worked effectively with my group because we are the biggest group that had 5 members and everyone also has busy schedules for working and studying. Thus, it helped us to save time and meet the deadline without having too much meeting for the brainstorming ideas. If I had another one-minute project in the future, I wish the group size would be reduce to three or four members for a better process. Another strength I believe is spending time for test the camera as well as finding the way to act naturally because this is the first time we make the very short video. Beside that, I have to mention that creating the specific roles for every member in the group contributed to the smooth process and avoid the conflict between us.

  • Weaknesses

At the beginning, we had so many ideas but we could not stick with the best one. Thus, we could not produce the perfect one and had to do the second video. However, I think my group had a solution for that problem which was creating the channel to present ideas and voted to choose the idea that everyone wanted to shoot. Besides that, I think we had difficulties with the light in the film and it was not the result that we wanted. Actually, we did not try both solutions for the light of the film. The classroom has many curtains but we thought the light in the room was quite enough for our video so we did not pull up the curtains for making different versions. I think trying different solutions and making a comparison are very significant lessons to learn in order to figure out which one is the best film for audience to enjoy.
Overall, I feel very happy and satisfied with the final result of my team because we had try all and although we failed one time, we did not give up and produced the good final product.